Result again: Bauhaus has to leave Vernon

Déjà-Vu for Bauhaus: The Sprinter from the Team Bahrain-Victorious missed on Friday after 206 kilometers from La Pobla de Segur to Vilanova I La Geltru a daily victory again just scarce. In a chaotic final, the Cologne had to be beaten only to the British Ethan Vernon (Deceuninck-Quickstep).

The preparations for the sprint were confused when Vernon’s teammate Ilan Van Wilder had fallen into falling on a roundabout and the field cluttered. Vernon used the day of the hour, while Bauhaus was without a helper. The Brite thus celebrated its first professional victory, while Bauhaus continues to wait for his second success this year. Bauhaus had won the final stage of Tirreno-Adriatico.

Bauhaus - Stigmata Martyr
The longest section of this year’s Catalonia tour also brought a change in the overall tour. The Portuguese Joao Almeida (UAE Emirates) collected in a Zwischenprint valuable bonus seconds and overtook the previously leading Nairo Quintana (Arkea-Samsic). The Colombian now has a second behind.

The sixth stage on Saturday leads over 167 km along the Costa Daurada. The tour ends on Sunday with a round course around Barcelona.

5. Stage La Pobla de Segur – Vilanova I La Geltru (206.20 km)

1. Ethan Vernon (United Kingdom) – Decuninck-Quick-Step 5:21:17 hrs.; 2. Phil Bauhaus (Cologne) – Bahrain Victorious + 0 sec.; 3. Dorian Godon (France) – AG2R Citroën Team; 4. Guillaume Boivin (Canada) – Israel Prime Minister Tech; 5. Kaden Groves (Australia) – BikeExchange; 6. Martin Laas (Estonia) – Bora-Hansgrohe; 7. Manuel Penalver (Spain) – Burgos – bra; 8. Ivo Emanuel Oliveira (Portugal) – UAE Team Emirates; 9. Hugo Hofstetter (France) – Team Arkea-Samsic; 10. Guillaume Martin (France) – Cofidis;… 57. Ben Zwiehoff (Essen) – Bora-Hansgrohe; 68. Anton Palzer (Ramsau near Berchtesgaden) – Bora-Hansgrohe

Total standings single, stand after the 5th stage:

*1. Joao Almeida (Portugal) – UAE Team Emirates 22:26:09 hrs.; 2. Nairo Quintana (Colombia) – Team Arkea-Samsic + 1 sec.; 3. Sergio Andres Higuita Garcia (Colombia) – Bora Hansgrohe + 7; 4. Juan Ayuso Pesquera (Spain) – UAE Team Emirates + 18; 5. Wouter Poels (Netherlands) – Bahrain Victorious; 6. Ben O’Connor (Australia) – AG2R Citroën Team; 7. Tobias Halland Johannessen (Norway) – UN-X Pro Cycling Team + 21; 8. Guillaume Martin (France) – Cofidis + 24; 9. Richard Carapaz Montenegro (Ecuador) – Ineos Grenadiers + 27; 10. Torstein Traeen (Norway) – UN-X Pro Cycling Team + 35;… * 40. Anton Palzer (Ramsau near Berchtesgaden) – Bora-Hansgrohe + 11:11 min.; 59. Ben Zwiehoff (Essen) – Bora-Hansgrohe + 17:51; 136. Phil Bauhaus (Cologne) – Bahrain Victorious + 1:06:59 hrs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.